Brinton Smith Events

Sarasota Music Festival

When: Friday June 15th 2018
Time: 8:00 PM EDT
Where: Sarasota Opera House, 61 N Pineapple Ave,, Sarasota FL 34236

The spirit of America resounds in a wide-ranging program showcasing Festival students and faculty artists. French composer Darius Milhaud’s chamber ballet La Creation du monde (The Creation of the World) brings to life an African creation myth through jazz-inspired music. Folk tunes are at the heart of Antonin Dvorak’s American Quintet, composed during his summer in Spillville, Iowa. American composer Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring will be performed in its original version for small ensemble. With memorable melodies like “Simple Gifts” and folk-inspired harmonies, the work is one of Copland’s most beloved creations.


Milhaud La création du monde, Op. 81 (The Creation of the World)
Jeffrey Kahane, conductor and piano; Thomas Robertello, flute; Rebecca Tutunick, flute/piccolo; Nancy Ambrose King, oboe; Chanul Kim, clarinet; Dustin Lin, clarinet; Daniel Fendrick, bassoon; Don Rhynard, alto saxophone; William VerMeulen, horn; Ayano Guiles, trumpet; Aaron Romm, trumpet; Joseph Dubas, trombone; Yoko Kita, timpani; George Nickson, percussion; Zachery DePue, violin; Bing Yang, violin; Nathan Walhout, cello; Dominic Law, bass

Copland Appalachian Spring
Jeffrey Kahane, conductor and piano; Thomas Robertello, flute; Eli Eban, clarinet; Frank Morelli, bassoon; Alexander Kerr, violin; Julia Mirzoev, violin; Paolo Dara, violin; Amy Blackburn, violin; Aekyung Kim, viola; Gabriel Napoli, viola; Brinton Smith, cello; Ethan Cobb, cello; Evan Bish, bass

Grieg Norwegian Peasant Dances, Op. 72
Jonathan Spivey, piano

Dvořák String Quintet in E-flat Major, Op. 97 (American)
Zachery DePue, violin; Katherine Arndt violin; Damon Taheri, viola; Halam Kim, viola; Natalie Helm, cello

Official Site

go back
Click on the map marker for driving directions